May 3, 2012


Thanks to outgoing KRC board members... and welcome to new! 

The Kansas Rural Center held its winter board meeting on Saturday March 10 at the Hide Out Hunting Lodge, near Reading, Ks. Four board members whose terms were up were thanked for their years of service and commitment to KRC. These included Julie Elfving, Olathe; Nancy Vogelsberg-Busch, Home City; Dale Strickler, Jamestown; and Sherrie Mahoney, Salina. Two more had resigned due to other obligations: Scott Allegrucci, Lawrence, and Herb Bartel, Hillsboro. All will be missed, although all will be tapped on occasion for continued advice, insight, and wisdom.

Six new board members were added: Hilary Brown, Lawrence, (who is filling out a term for resigning Scott Allegrucci); Ben Champion, Manhattan; David Coltrain, Washington; William Justice, Salina; Troy Schroeder, Albert; and Gary Weisenberger, Lebanon. They represent a wide range of food and farming knowledge and experience from local food entrepreneurs, Extension, wildlife and conservation, organic farming and sustainability issues overall.

KRC also elected 2012 officers: Laura Fortmeyer, Fairview, and Marjorie Van Buren, Topeka, as co-presidents; Rodger Schneider, Salina, Vice-President; Wayne White, Oskaloosa, Treasurer. Donn Teske and Paul Ingle also join the officers serving on KRC’s Executive Committee.

Thanks and Best Wishes to Mercedes Taylor-Puckett 

KRC extends best wishes and good luck in future endeavors to Mercedes Taylor-Puckett, the Our Local Food Project Coordinator who left KRC in April. Mercedes joined KRC in late 2008 and was instrumental in developing KRC’s local and regional food system project.

No comments:

Post a Comment